Company 3 Takes HPA Awards in Commercial, Feature Categories

November 19, 2020 Nov. 19, 2020

It was a very exciting evening at the first virtual HPA Awards gala tonight!

We are all thrilled to announce that Jill Bogdanowicz received the award for Outstanding Color Grading — Feature Film for her powerful and haunting work on mega-hit, Joker, and Tom Poole took the award in the Commercial category for the lush, beautiful grade he brought to the much-lauded Ralph Lauren spot, “Deep Blue.”

A big shout-out to them and to all the artists from Company 3 (and their incredible teams) who were nominated for this award, which is dedicated to honoring the best post production work of the year!


Here are the winners:

Outstanding Color Grading – Theatrical Feature

Joker – Color by Jill Bogdanowicz

Director : Todd Phillips

DP: Lawrence Sher


Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial  

Ralph Lauren ‘Deep Blue’ – Color by Tom Poole

Director: Nathan Copan

DP: Max Goldman



2020 Nominations:

Outstanding Color Grading – Theatrical Feature

Jojo Rabbit – Color by Tim Stipan

Director : Taika Waititi

DP: Mihai Malaimare Jr.


Ad Astra – Color by Greg Fisher

Director : James Gray

DP: Hoyte Van Hoytema


Mulan – Color by Natasha Leonnet

Director : Niki Caro

DP: Mandy Walker


Gretel and Hansel – Color by Mitch Paulson

Director: Osgood Perkins

DP: Galo Olivares


Outstanding Color Grading – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature 

Altered Carbon Season 2 – Color by Bill Ferwarda

Director: M.J. Bassett, Ciaran Donnelly, Salli Richardson-Whitfield and Jeremy Webb

DP: Corey Robson, Bernard Couture and P.J. Dillon


Greyhound  – Color by Bryan Smaller

Director: Aaron Schneider

DP: Shelly Johnson


Outstanding Color Grading – Commercial   

BMW ‘This is Option 2′ – Color by Tom Poole

Director: Terence  Neale

DP: Khalid Mohtaseb


Diet Coke ‘Drink What Your Mama Gave Ya’ – Color by Dave Hussey

Director: Los Pérez

DP: Sergi Vilanova⁣


NFL ‘Next 100’ – Color by Stefan Sonnenfeld

Director: Max Malkin

DP: Max Malkin


BMW ‘A Mirror Into the Future’ – Sofie Borup

Director: Oliver Würffell

DP: Denis Guth


Outstanding Sound – Episodic or Non-theatrical Feature 

Locke & Key Season 1 – Sound by Chris Cooke, Eric Apps, J.R. Fountain and Dustin Harris

Director: Michael Morris, Vincenzo Natali, Tim Southam, Mark Tonderai and Dawn Wilkinson

DP: Tico Poulakakis and Colin Hoult


Outstanding Visual Effects – Episodic (Over 13 Episodes)

The Flash – Grodd Friended Me – VFX by Armen V. Kevorkian, Shirak Agresta, Christopher Grocock and Tanya Kevorkian

Director: Stefan Pleszczynski

DP: Brenton Spencer


Supergirl – Crisis on Infinite Earths: Part One – VFX by Armen Kevorkian, Brian Reiss, Kris Cabrera, Fabian Jimenez and Alex Schade

Director: Jesse Warn

DP: James Liston