52nd NAACP Image Awards

March 29, 2021 Mar. 29, 2021

On Saturday March 27th the winners of the annual NAACP awards were announced at a virtual ceremony hosted by Anthony Anderson. The awards, which are in their 52nd year, are organized by the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People to honor outstanding storytelling and craft in film, television, music, and literature.

Company 3 is proud to have collaborated on a number of the honored films and we would like to extend a huge congratulations to all of the talented winners this year.


Bad Boys for Life

Outstanding Motion Picture



The Old Guard

Outstanding Directing in a Motion Picture: Gina Prince-Bythewood


  • Colorist: Walter Volpatto
  • Finishing Editor: Chirs Doerr
  • DP: Barry Ackroyd + Tami Reiker
  • Editor: Terilyn A. Shropshire



Outstanding Comedy Series + Outstanding Actress in a Comedy Series (Issa Rae)


  • Colorist: Dave Hussey
  • Finishing Editor: Heydar Adel
  • Director: Kevin Bray, Prentice Penny, Stella Meghie, Kerry Washington, Thembi Banks, Ava Berkofsky, Lacey Duke, Jay Ellis, Nijla Mumin + Mark Sadlek
  • DP: Ava Berkofsky, Michelle Lawler + Kira Kelly
  • Editor: Mark Sadlek, Nina Erb, Daysha Broadway + Lyngrion Hubbard


Star Trek: Picard – ‘Remembrance’

Outstanding Directing in a Drama Series: Hanelle Culpepper




Outstanding Short Form Series – Comedy or Drama + Outstanding Performance in a Short Form Series (Laurence Fishburne)



Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom

Outstanding Actress in a Motion Picture (Viola Davis), Outstanding Actor in a Motion Picture (Chadwick Boseman) + Outstanding Ensemble Cast in a Motion Picture


  • Colorist: Stefan Sonnenfeld
  • Additional Colorist: Andrew Geary
  • Finishing Editor: Chad Schermerhorn
  • Additional Finishing Editor: John Diesso
  • Director: George C. Wolfe
  • DP: Tobias A. Schliessler
  • Editor: Andrew Mondshein


Da 5 Bloods

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture (Chadwick Boseman)


  • Colorist: Stephen Nakamura
  • Finishing Editor: Chad Schermerhorn
  • Additional Finishing Editor: John Diesso
  • Director: Spike Lee
  • DP: Newton Thomas Sigel
  • Editor: Adam Gough


Little Fires Everywhere – ‘The Spider Web’

Outstanding Writing in a Drama Series (Attica Locke)



See the full list of winners + nominees: here.